Purdue Bands Blast Off To The Stars

Everything is better when a orchestra plays. It could be anything from a TV theme song to a classical piece of music. For me, I am partial to Purdue Bands. They represent one of the greatest college band in history. I know that is some high praise but they deserve it. Two weeks ago, I went to the Purdue Percussion Ensemble performance of the “X-Beats”. This show focused on sci-fi related songs and themes performed in a 1950’s setting.

I want to give you a taste of what performance was about with this slideshow. After the show, I asked Ethan Heikens who preformed in this event to talk about what he likes about this show. I love these old sci-fi sounds and how these movie studios created them. The Purdue Percussion Ensemble replicated the feel of them perfectly. I was transported back to the when I first watched them. Going to this event made me binge watch War of the Worlds, The Beast from 20,000 Fathoms, and The Day the Earth Stood Still.

I know creating a slideshow does not create the feel and environment that you actually being there, but I hope you will get that these students put in hours upon hours of hard work. They missed time with friends, family, and sometimes school to strive for perfection at this event. The students here gave me a memory that will last a lifetime. My nerdy heart was proudly beating on that day.

Leave a Reply

